Student life

Tigre!

NYU in Buenos Aires is very lucky to have an amazing student life staff. They are approachable and very helpful. They even know your name! That’s one of the perks of having a small community. It’s a little weird at first since they have pictures of you and know you before they have even seen you in person, but I’m glad that they took the time to try to know me. Whenever I have a question they not only answer it, but talk to me about how things are going.

The student life team also puts together fun things to do. They show movies and even taught us how to make mate, the drink that Argentines love to have. One of my favorite activities that they offered was the Ritmos Caribeños dance/ workout class. I loved it because it was a lot like Zumba which I also admire. It was a great way to work up a sweat while also learning some new dance moves. The music was great and the instructors were very nice. They even let us stay for the next dance class. There are supposed to be a couple more of those classes offered before the semester ends so I look forward to that. I might even go to that dance studio another time and try out some of the other classes that they offer.

Another great part of student life is when classes go on field trips. Often times the student life staff sends out emails and invites other students not in the class to join. It’s a great way to get a free tour of an area along with some history that we may not have known before. My favorite class field trip was a trip to Tigre. Many students went there on their own, but I was able to join a class and go for free. It was a lot of fun and I hope to go back because there is an amusement park that I would love to visit.

The activities that NYU puts together for us are a lot of fun and I recommend taking full advantage of them.

About jday1991

NYU student in the Global Media Scholars Program in the Steinhardt major of Media,Culture, and Communication. Studying in Buenos Aires Fall 2012 with the help of Banco Santander.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

